Storium Theory: Narration Styles: Rattannah

This post originally appeared on Gaming Creatively on February 2nd, 2017. Today on the ol’ blog, we’ve got something special: the first of a few interviews that I’ll be doing with some narrators from Storium games who I’ve found to have styles that are somewhat different from mine in various ways, but who have run some excellent games. I’ve written quite a bit on narration techniques on this blog, but I can really only discuss those from my perspective – and I’m well aware that my style is not the only style of narration. So, in an effort to provide some more models for people to have a look at, I’m going to be speaking with some other Storium narrators to let them talk about their personal narration styles. First...

Behind the Keyboard: Furare

In this bonus episode of the Storium Arc podcast, we interview Furare!  An avid player on the site and participant in the community, Furare was one of the very first mentors on the site and still offers her expertise to beginners today.  Furare is known for narrating deep and complex worlds in the science fiction and fantasy genres, so sit back, relax and enjoy as we get to know the person behind the keyboard. https://storium.com/user/furare https://storium.com/game/to-cast-a-shadow/chapter-1/scene-1 https://storium.com/game/no-stone-so-cold/act-1/scene-1 https://storium.com/game/dust-in-the-wind/chapter-1/scene-1 https://storium.com/game/all-the-songs-of-earth/act-1/scene-1 https://storium.com/game/gamma-gamma-delta/act-1/scene-1...

Episode 40! Happy New Year!

In this episode, the Storium Arc crew shares their thoughts about 2016 and their hopes for 2017. Show Notes Links: Storium Game Links: Disinherited: https://storium.com/game/disinherited Deathtraps Scene: https://storium.com/game/disinherited/chapter-4/scene-5 Twishted: Academia: https://storium.com/game/twishted-academia High-Flying Ransom: https://storium.com/game/high-flying-ransom Primogenita: https://storium.com/game/scion–2 Croaked: A Fractured Fairy Tale: https://storium.com/game/croaked-a-fractured-fairy-tale-2 Colder than the North: https://storium.com/game/colder-than-the-north Eysteinn’s Breakdown: https://storium.com/game/colder-than-the-north/chapter-4/scene-1 The Cost of an Arm and a Leg (“The Cyberpunk...

New Worlds Report Episode 15: Keymaster & Young Centurions

New Worlds Report returns as we talk about two more Kickstarter worlds. In this episode, we discuss Keymaster & Young Centurions! Links: Keymaster: https://storium.com/world/keymaster Young Centurions: https://storium.com/world/young-centurions Young Centurions tabletop roleplaying game: http://www.evilhat.com/home/young-centurions/ http://media.blubrry.com/storiumarc/p/storiumarc.com/wp-content/Manual_uploads/NWR15.mp3Podcast: Play in new window |...

Episode 39! Inspirational Thoughts

In this episode, we discuss getting inspiration for creating a character. Show Notes 00:33 Intro 00:57 News 12:07 Character Inspirations 01:11:17 Sign-off 01:12:14 Outro Links: Storium Game Links: Sidhe Vicious: https://storium.com/game/sidhe-vicious–2 Renegade: https://storium.com/game/renegade Beyond the Relays: https://storium.com/game/beyond-the-relays The Cost of an Arm and a Leg: https://storium.com/game/the-cost-of-an-arm-and-a-leg In Search of Sunrise: https://storium.com/game/in-search-of-sunrise Sorrow’s Shores: https://storium.com/game/sorrows-shores High-Flying Ransom: https://storium.com/game/high-flying-ransom Department of Abnormal Occurrences (Season 1): https://storium.com/game/department-of-abnormal-occurrences Colder than the...

New Worlds Report Episode 14: The Esoterrorists and Ozymandias

New Worlds Report returns as we talk about two more Kickstarter worlds. In this episode, we discuss The Esoterrorists and Ozymandias! Links: The Esoterrorists: https://storium.com/world/the-esoterrorists Ozymandias: https://storium.com/world/ozymandias The Esoterrorists tabletop roleplaying game: http://site.pelgranepress.com/index.php/category/products/the-esoterrorists/ http://media.blubrry.com/storiumarc/p/storiumarc.com/wp-content/Manual_uploads/NWR14.mp3Podcast: Play in new window |...