New Worlds Report Episode 16: The Wreckers & The Heroes Return

New Worlds Report returns as we talk about two more Kickstarter worlds. In this episode, we discuss The Wreckers & The Heroes Return! Links: The Wreckers: https://storium.com/world/the-wreckers The Heroes Return: https://storium.com/world/the-heroes-return http://media.blubrry.com/storiumarc/p/storiumarc.com/wp-content/Manual_uploads/NWR16.mp3Podcast: Play in new window |...

Episode 41! Dialog About Dialog

In this episode, we discuss finding a character’s voice and writing conversations. Show Notes 00:45 Intro 02:32 Geek-Out: Favorite Dialog Moments 26:21 Finding a Character’s Voice 45:25 Dialog and Details 55:00 Conversation Between Player Characters (with occasional comments on NPCs) 01:27:00 Negotiation Scenes 01:34:40 Wrap-Up 01:36:19 Outro Links: Storium Game Links: Red Door: https://storium.com/game/red-door/chapter-1/scene-1 War of Gods and Men: https://storium.com/game/war-of-gods-and-men “Passion Fruit”: https://storium.com/game/war-of-gods-and-men/chapter-5/scene-2 Pulp Vol. 1 – The Mayor’s Murder: https://storium.com/game/pulp-vol-1-the-mayors-murder Percy and...

Storium Theory: Narration Styles: Rattannah

This post originally appeared on Gaming Creatively on February 2nd, 2017. Today on the ol’ blog, we’ve got something special: the first of a few interviews that I’ll be doing with some narrators from Storium games who I’ve found to have styles that are somewhat different from mine in various ways, but who have run some excellent games. I’ve written quite a bit on narration techniques on this blog, but I can really only discuss those from my perspective – and I’m well aware that my style is not the only style of narration. So, in an effort to provide some more models for people to have a look at, I’m going to be speaking with some other Storium narrators to let them talk about their personal narration styles. First...

Behind the Keyboard: Furare

In this bonus episode of the Storium Arc podcast, we interview Furare!  An avid player on the site and participant in the community, Furare was one of the very first mentors on the site and still offers her expertise to beginners today.  Furare is known for narrating deep and complex worlds in the science fiction and fantasy genres, so sit back, relax and enjoy as we get to know the person behind the keyboard. https://storium.com/user/furare https://storium.com/game/to-cast-a-shadow/chapter-1/scene-1 https://storium.com/game/no-stone-so-cold/act-1/scene-1 https://storium.com/game/dust-in-the-wind/chapter-1/scene-1 https://storium.com/game/all-the-songs-of-earth/act-1/scene-1 https://storium.com/game/gamma-gamma-delta/act-1/scene-1...

Episode 40! Happy New Year!

In this episode, the Storium Arc crew shares their thoughts about 2016 and their hopes for 2017. Show Notes Links: Storium Game Links: Disinherited: https://storium.com/game/disinherited Deathtraps Scene: https://storium.com/game/disinherited/chapter-4/scene-5 Twishted: Academia: https://storium.com/game/twishted-academia High-Flying Ransom: https://storium.com/game/high-flying-ransom Primogenita: https://storium.com/game/scion–2 Croaked: A Fractured Fairy Tale: https://storium.com/game/croaked-a-fractured-fairy-tale-2 Colder than the North: https://storium.com/game/colder-than-the-north Eysteinn’s Breakdown: https://storium.com/game/colder-than-the-north/chapter-4/scene-1 The Cost of an Arm and a Leg (“The Cyberpunk...

New Worlds Report Episode 15: Keymaster & Young Centurions

New Worlds Report returns as we talk about two more Kickstarter worlds. In this episode, we discuss Keymaster & Young Centurions! Links: Keymaster: https://storium.com/world/keymaster Young Centurions: https://storium.com/world/young-centurions Young Centurions tabletop roleplaying game: http://www.evilhat.com/home/young-centurions/ http://media.blubrry.com/storiumarc/p/storiumarc.com/wp-content/Manual_uploads/NWR15.mp3Podcast: Play in new window |...