New Worlds Report Episode 21: Starship New Dawn and Blue Gene

Go where no one has gone before in this episode of New Worlds Report as we discuss Starship New Dawn and Blue Gene! Links: Starship New Dawn: https://storium.com/world/starship-new-dawn Blue Gene: https://storium.com/world/blue-gene http://media.blubrry.com/storiumarc/p/storiumarc.com/wp-content/Manual_uploads/NWR21.mp3Podcast: Play in new window |...

Episode 48! Arc on Arcs

In this episode of Storium Arc, we discuss arcs! The character kind of arc, not the Storium Arc kind of…you know what, you get it. 00:48 Intro 01:07 Extremely Outdated News 03:18 Designing a Character Arc 24:26 Techniques for Writing Arcs 01:17:09 Arcs Across Multiple Games 01:35:49 Wrap-Up 01:37:03 Outro Links: Storium Games: 157 – “The Cost of an Arm and a Leg”: https://storium.com/character/one-hundred-and-fifty-seven/in/the-cost-of-an-arm-and-a-leg Brennan Sheridan – “Sorrow’s Shores”: https://storium.com/character/brennan-sheridan/in/sorrows-shores Connie Rogers – “Stormfront”: https://storium.com/character/connie-sand-dog-rogers/in/storm-front Jackie Washington – “The Cost of an...

Episode 47! Describing Description

After a bit of a hiatus, we’re back! Today on Storium Arc, we’re talking descriptions – for characters, places, all sorts of things. How can you use description to bring your story to life, and how can you work it naturally into your tale? 00:31 Intro 01:00 News 10:40 Describing Characters 32:30 Adjusting Descriptions to Game Genre 44:08 Fitting Description into Your Story Naturally 01:13:21 Setting the Scene / Describing Environments 01:35:00 Wrap-Up 01:36:22 Outro Links: Storium Games: “Colder Than The North”: https://storium.com/game/colder-than-the-north “DAO Season 1”: https://storium.com/game/department-of-abnormal-occurrences “The Cost of an Arm and a...

New Worlds Report Episode 20: Heaven and Hell’s Harbor

It’s Dante Alighieri’s favorite episode! In this episode of New Worlds Report, we discuss Heaven and Hell’s Harbor! Links: Heaven: https://storium.com/world/heaven Hell’s Harbor: https://storium.com/world/hells-harbor http://media.blubrry.com/storiumarc/p/storiumarc.com/wp-content/Manual_uploads/NWR20.mp3Podcast: Play in new window |...

Episode 46! Lights, Camera…ACTION!

In this episode, we discuss action – how do you bring excitement to action sequences, whether fight scenes, chases, escapes, or anything else? 00:35 Intro 01:42 Setting the Stage: Narrator’s Role 57:45 Telling the Story: Player’s Role 01:37:46 Narrator and Player Cooperation 01:49:51 Too Much Action 02:01:04 Wrap-Up 02:02:45 Outro Links: Storium Game Links: Project Mogul – The Brazel Ranch Occurrence: https://storium.com/game/project-mogul-the-brazel-ranch-occurrence High-Flying Ransom: https://storium.com/game/high-flying-ransom Battle with the Crew: https://storium.com/game/high-flying-ransom/chapter-6/scene-2 The Cost of an Arm and a Leg: https://storium.com/game/the-cost-of-an-arm-and-a-leg Battle with...

Episode 45! The Many Faces of Evil

In this episode, we discuss creating and using villains – how do you involve a villain in the story, how can a villain drive the story, and what sorts of villains can you write? 00:53 Intro 01:17 Story Types: Stories with Villains Villain-Driven Stories Stories without Villains 25:30 Designing a Good Villain 32:48 Getting Player Characters to Engage the Villain 40:27 Types of Villains Sympathetic Scoundrel Vindictive / Hate-Filled Monsters Human Monsters Tempters Brutes Fanatics Everyday Villain Not So Bad After All 01:11:13 Appeal for Other Villain Types 01:14:54 Wrap-Up 01:15:08 Outro Links: Storium Game Links: Hunters of the Damned: https://storium.com/game/hunters-of-the-damned–2 Stitching Space and...