Episode 47! Describing Description

After a bit of a hiatus, we’re back! Today on Storium Arc, we’re talking descriptions – for characters, places, all sorts of things. How can you use description to bring your story to life, and how can you work it naturally into your tale? 00:31 Intro 01:00 News 10:40 Describing Characters 32:30 Adjusting Descriptions to Game Genre 44:08 Fitting Description into Your Story Naturally 01:13:21 Setting the Scene / Describing Environments 01:35:00 Wrap-Up 01:36:22 Outro Links: Storium Games: “Colder Than The North”: https://storium.com/game/colder-than-the-north “DAO Season 1”: https://storium.com/game/department-of-abnormal-occurrences “The Cost of an Arm and a...

New Worlds Report Episode 20: Heaven and Hell’s Harbor

It’s Dante Alighieri’s favorite episode! In this episode of New Worlds Report, we discuss Heaven and Hell’s Harbor! Links: Heaven: https://storium.com/world/heaven Hell’s Harbor: https://storium.com/world/hells-harbor http://media.blubrry.com/storiumarc/p/storiumarc.com/wp-content/Manual_uploads/NWR20.mp3Podcast: Play in new window |...

Episode 46! Lights, Camera…ACTION!

In this episode, we discuss action – how do you bring excitement to action sequences, whether fight scenes, chases, escapes, or anything else? 00:35 Intro 01:42 Setting the Stage: Narrator’s Role 57:45 Telling the Story: Player’s Role 01:37:46 Narrator and Player Cooperation 01:49:51 Too Much Action 02:01:04 Wrap-Up 02:02:45 Outro Links: Storium Game Links: Project Mogul – The Brazel Ranch Occurrence: https://storium.com/game/project-mogul-the-brazel-ranch-occurrence High-Flying Ransom: https://storium.com/game/high-flying-ransom Battle with the Crew: https://storium.com/game/high-flying-ransom/chapter-6/scene-2 The Cost of an Arm and a Leg: https://storium.com/game/the-cost-of-an-arm-and-a-leg Battle with...

Episode 45! The Many Faces of Evil

In this episode, we discuss creating and using villains – how do you involve a villain in the story, how can a villain drive the story, and what sorts of villains can you write? 00:53 Intro 01:17 Story Types: Stories with Villains Villain-Driven Stories Stories without Villains 25:30 Designing a Good Villain 32:48 Getting Player Characters to Engage the Villain 40:27 Types of Villains Sympathetic Scoundrel Vindictive / Hate-Filled Monsters Human Monsters Tempters Brutes Fanatics Everyday Villain Not So Bad After All 01:11:13 Appeal for Other Villain Types 01:14:54 Wrap-Up 01:15:08 Outro Links: Storium Game Links: Hunters of the Damned: https://storium.com/game/hunters-of-the-damned–2 Stitching Space and...

Episode 44! All the Stage’s a World

In this episode, we discuss the ways to use and adapt Storium’s various worlds for use in your games. 00:31 Intro 01:10 News 03:40 Use of Preconstructed Worlds 05:12 Experiences Using Worlds in Storium 15:04 Reasons to Use a Preconstructed World 24:12 Pros and Cons of Using a World As-Is 34:45 Using Worlds as Resources 39:23 Experiences Using Worlds as Designed 49:50 Putting Your Own Spin on a World 51:20 Setting Up a World from Scratch 56:33 Customization Experiences and Tips 01:02:59 Recommended Games Using Premade Worlds 01:06:50 Wrap-Up and Feedback Request 01:09:35 Outro Links: Storium Game Links: Sidhe Vicious (loosely based on Urban Fantasy): https://storium.com/game/sidhe-vicious–2 Storm Front (based on...

New Worlds Report Episode 19: The Raising and the Dreamblood

New Worlds Report returns as we talk about The Raising and The Dreamblood! Links: The Raising: https://storium.com/world/the-raising The Dreamblood: https://storium.com/world/the-dreamblood http://media.blubrry.com/storiumarc/p/storiumarc.com/wp-content/Manual_uploads/NWR19.mp3Podcast: Play in new window |...